FAQ Log in
Search Profile
Memberlist Usergroups
Register
Jump To: Haelrahv Main Site | My Haelrahv Account | Haelrahv Play Page
Questions from a new Artisan
The Official Haelrahv Message Forum Forum Index » Crafting & Trades » Questions from a new Artisan
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Xeiesa

Post Posted: Fri May 14, 2004 1:37 pm    Post subject: Questions from a new Artisan

First of all, I'm pretty new to the game, so I may ask a few well-known questions. I swear I've scoured the boards for answers, though! Thanks to Rich for pointing me to the game; I've been really enjoying myself.

Anyway, my questions, in no particular order:

1. Is there a pottery/crafting counter (as there was for forging in DR)? I've been throwing a lot of forks, and I've noticed that, while mostly I get low-end work (shoddy, gnarled, etc.), occasionally I will hit something like mediocre or middling. Am I just getting lucky?

2. Does paint ever run out? I know glaze does, but looking at the paint doesn't give me any "it is half-full" type message.

3. Is there anywhere else to work with clay other than the art center in Llanfair?

4. How come you only have to fire clay items once? In real life, you've gotta fire them after glazing too, otherwise you don't get the nice, shiny quality. And speaking of realism... just exactly how does one make forks on a wheel?? (It would be nice if we could make certain items anywhere.)

5. I've noticed that pottery does not exactly get my exp flying -- my friends tell me they can fill up in combat in less than 15 minutes, but I *never* fill up on pottery (I think maybe I get to the first exp level... I don't really watch though). Sculpting is my favorite thing to do, so it saddens me that I, as an Artisan, still can't really learn well from it. Does anybody have suggestions for how to gain exp well out of combat?

Finally, I have a suggestion. I think that throwing pots should really get us dirty:

You see Xeiesa Ceii, an Alteri.